Hunger Games Philippines

When I was in my Senior year in High School, I saw many students reading a book entitled “Hunger Games.” I asked a friend, what ‘s with “Hunger Games” and she told me that it’s about an adventure. It was written by Suzanne Collins. You could know more about her (this also includes a downloadable “A Conversation with Suzanne Collins (PDF File) and answers to burning questions), click here.

To be exact, I got the book’s overview from a reputable site:

Twenty-four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives.

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Each year, the districts are forced by the Capitol to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the Hunger Games, a brutal and terrifying fight to the death – televised for all of Panem to see.

Survival is second nature for sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who struggles to feed her mother and younger sister by secretly hunting and gathering beyond the fences of District 12. When Katniss steps in to take the place of her sister in the Hunger Games, she knows it may be her death sentence. If she is to survive, she must weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

The Hunger Games

I was intrigued by the book and since Junico owns the complete set, I borrowed Hunger Games from her collection. I do admit that up to now, I’m not yet done reading it but the story is really catchy, easy to understand and breathtaking. I was informed that it would be adapted into a movie starring Jennifer Lawrence for the lead cast, Katniss Everdeen and Josh Hutcherson for Peeta Mellark. Click here to know more about the upcoming movie adaptation.

The Hunger Games Official Poster

I can say that there are many Filipino readers and fans of Hunger Games. There is a tumblr site for Filipino fans out there, click here. I recently joined the HG Philippines contests which are the Tracker Jacker and Philippine Hunger Games. To know more about the details of those contests, click here. If you’re a fan/reader of this book, why not give it a try to join one of those contests?

L: Catching Fire and R: MockingJay

Hunger Games is not just a single book. It’s a trilogy. The next books are the Catching Fire and Mockingjay. I’m planning to get my own copies soon.

Leave a Reply

